In this article
The roadmap will enable you to combine multiple features into a single planned view which can be used to drive visibility for the plans of your product PODs/individual PMs or the entire product team as required.
You can combine the individual roadmaps of multiple features and create many roadmaps for different stakeholders.
Company roadmaps are available in the left navigation bar: Planning > Roadmap
The above portal lists all the roadmaps that you have created in your workspace and you can view individual roadmaps by clicking on any roadmap as shown below -
Creating a roadmap
By Clicking on the "Create New Roadmap" Button,
You can enter the title for the roadmap like Q3 2022, July Roadmap, Sprint 18 etc
You will be able to select the default view of the roadmap from options of Timeline (Gantt Chart) or Kanban (Status boards)
You will be able to define the access of the roadmap
Private - visible only to the creator
Workspace - visible to everyone in the workspace
You will be asked to custom select 1 or more features from the features lists to create a Roadmap.
Once all the fields are entered on the Create roadmap form, a roadmap is created with default parameters that show all the selected features placed according to their start and end date. And the ones without dates are stacked as a list in the parking lot.
The default value of the group by - Status (if Timeline view)
The default value of sub-group by - None
The default value of the timeline duration - Month
Classification and Customizing Roadmap
Roadmaps in the platform can be customized for individual needs like sharing with stakeholders, assignee-wise breakdown of features, see important releases using a new set of features on roadmap like:
Group by/ Sub-group by
You can create roadmap themes by adding a group by classification on any feature field like Product, Assignee, Importance, Type, Status or on custom fields created for features.
A sub-group by classification can also be applied to create a detailed roadmap that helps to track feature progress on 2 verticals one by group and under the group different sub-groups.
Sub-group can also be applied to any feature-related field (default or custom).
Note: A sub-group by can't be applied unless a group by is applied on the roadmap.
Filters can be applied to find the requested features by different stakeholders in the planned roadmap. The filter can be applied over these feature-related fields:
Mapping (Feedback mapped, Not mapped with anything)
Saved or Update Roadmap
A saved/ updated roadmap enables you to access your customized roadmap as required. We at Zeda.io understand that different teams and team members would want to see the views by adding filters, grouping etc. You can create and save views as per different stakeholders or use cases.
Roadmaps with applied filters or group by can be saved on the roadmap using Update Roadmap (saving the filter or group by/sub-group by applied on the roadmap created) or Save as New roadmap (With the filter or group by/sub-group by applied).
The Save or Update roadmap action can be done from -
either the filters bar or
from the save button present in the top bar.
You can also add milestones in your company roadmap to denote important deadlines like launches, release slots, compliance deadlines, customer commitment etc.
To add a milestone, please follow the below steps -
Click on the date where you want to add the milestone
Enter the milestone name, select a color (for color coding) and add the date
Once you add the milestone, you will start seeing a colored marker on the roadmap.
You can add multiple milestone for the same date regarding various stakeholders and color code it to classify milestones.
Sharing a roadmap
There are two types of access present on the roadmaps in zeda.io.
The first access is the Private, where the user who creates the roadmap can only access it from the roadmaps list. This can help when you are creating a roadmap but it's not finalized and want to keep on editing or working on it.
The second type of access is the Workspace, where the roadmap is accessible by any member added to the workspace. This can help when a roadmap is finalized before beginning the development and needs accessibility from all stakeholders and team members for checking the progress of features.
The access type can be changed anytime from the sharing option in the roadmap but can be done only by the creator of the roadmap.
Anyone added to your workspace is able to view all roadmaps by default.
All creators added to your workspace can create, view, edit and delete any company roadmap.
All collaborators added to your workspace can view any company roadmap.
You can also share a company roadmap with people not added to your workspace by generating a public link.
To generate a public sharing link for your roadmap, please follow the below steps -
If you have applied custom filters or grouping, please save the view by providing a name.
Now click on the Share button next to your saved view
Enable public sharing and share a live view of the roadmap with anyone as required.
Timeline & board view
With the roadmap, you can interchange the views between the “Timeline” view and “Board” view to use as per the discussion mode required.
The Timeline view allows you to see all the features basis the dates on the roadmap to see a detailed version of the feature completion progress.
Kanban/ Board view allows you to see the features on the basis of the status-wise boards where each feature is placed as a card.